video conference image

For the first time in AAHKS’s history, the transition to a new president took place without the in-person passing of the gavel. In the AAHKS Board of Directors (BOD) meeting that took place on Wednesday using a video conference platform, outgoing AAHKS President Michael P. Bolognesi, MD turned over his seat to incoming AAHKS President C. Lowry Barnes, MD. After Dr. Bolognesi expressed his thanks for the honor to serve, Dr. Barnes said, “We all want to thank you for what you’ve done for the organization. We have tough issues to face this year and we’ll do our best to carry on. This presidential line really leads together, and we’ll be calling on everyone to stay involved.”

Dr. Barnes is chair of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS) and holds the Carl L. Nelson, MD, Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery. As a member of AAHKS since 1997, Dr. Barnes has served as AAHKS Treasurer and as treasurer for the Foundation for Arthroplasty Research and Education (FARE). His leadership on the Research Committee helped move AAHKS research initiatives forward and was involved with physician reimbursement on the national level with the Advocacy Committee. Dr. Barnes was key to developing the team and business courses at the AAHKS Annual Meeting. Learn more about Dr. Barnes.

Other Board members taking office Wednesday night included David A. Halsey, MD as AAHKS Third Vice President. Denis Nam, MD and Ran Schwarzkopf, MD, MSc took office as AAHKS Board Members-at-Large. AAHKS wishes to thank Mark I. Froimson, MD, who ends his service to the Board as Past President. Thanks also to outgoing Members-at-Large, James A. Browne, MD and Mark J. Spangehl, MD. And to the following leaders ending their terms as Committee Chairs: Thomas L. Bradbury, MD (Member Outreach), James A. Browne, MD (Program) and Jeffrey K. Lange, MD (Young Arthroplasty Group).