On Wednesday, March 7, 2018, Craig J. Della Valle, MD took office as the 28th President of the American Association of Hip and Knee Surgeons (AAHKS) during the AAHKS Board of Directors meeting in New Orleans.

Dr. Della Valle is the Aaron G. Rosenberg Endowed Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief of the Section of Adult Reconstruction at Rush University Medical Center in Chicago. He specializes in primary and revision total joint arthroplasty. Dr. Della Valle completed his residency at the Hospital for Joint Diseases in New York City where he spent a year devoted to clinical and basic science research in the field of adult reconstructive surgery. He completed a fellowship in adult reconstructive surgery at Rush University Medical Center and Central DuPage Hospital. Dr. Della Valle has a long history of service on AAHKS committees and task forces. Read the press release.

Other Board members taking office Thursday night include Richard Iorio, MD as AAHKS Third Vice President. Dr. Iorio is the Immediate Past Chair of the AAHKS Health Policy Council, the Advocacy Committee, and co-chairs the Advanced Alternative Payment Model Task Force. Dr. Iorio is the Dr. William and Susan Jaffe Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Department of Orthopaedic Surgery and Chief, Division of Adult Reconstructive Surgery at NYU Langone’s Hospital for Joint Diseases and co-director of the Joint Preservation and Arthritis Center.

James A. Browne, MD and Mark J. Spangehl, MD, took office as AAHKS Board Members-at-Large for 2018-2020. Dr. Browne currently serves on the AAHKS Program Committee and practices in Charlottesville, Va. Dr. Spangehl is an Associate Editor for Arthroplasty Today and practices in Phoenix.

AAHKS wishes to thank the members of the Board of Directors, Council Chairs, Committee Chairs and Committee Members who have ended their terms. With their combined energy, leadership and vision, they have contributed greatly to the AAHKS mission of advancing hip and knee patient care.